My life as a Medical Student

 

IMG_20160517_144949
Before I started medical school I really had no idea what a typical day would be like. Would I go to class? How much class? Do I just study all day? What else is there to do? All I knew is that I will be studying in one of the #1 Medical school in the Philippines and I’m pretty sure it would be full of challenges. So, for those of you who are curious on what my life is as a medical student. Here it is:

1. Change of lifestyle

I have been in a current situation where hanging out, chilling, and doing other fun stuff is no longer listed in my planner. I used to love hanging out with friends in shopping malls, movie houses, and coffee shops. Anywhere, you name it. Unfortunately, those days were over.

Monday to Sunday, I study. From the moment I wake up, I take a shower, dress up to go to school, attend my Problem Based Learning class, go home, study ‘til dawn and then sleep again and wake up again. Yhup. The same cycle everyday. No, it’s not depriving myself from all the good things in life but it’s more like of a discipline. Self-discipline can be considered a type of training, creating new habits of thoughts and actions toward improving yourself and reaching your goal.

image

2. As you build self-discipline, you build time management.

In Medicine, you are given a bulk of chapters to read and if you don’t finish reading the set of chapters given to you, trust me, you’ll be in misery. Why? Another set of chapters are given to you the next day and you’ll be left behind. When you do not have control over your own self, how can you control time? So, time management is important though it can become an overwhelming task.

 

DSC01405

3. Your coffee will become your best friend.

Back in College, coffee was the thing I never fully understood. The taste was just too awful to me. It has a bitter taste. I always have negative things to say when I hear the word “coffee.” Now that I survived drinking coffee for a year, and learned that you can add tons of sugar and creamer to a cup, I realized one thing: how the heck did I live without it? Hahaha.

image

Another reason why coffee will be your best friend is that when you are spending those long tedious hours of reading, it is there to keep you focused and on track. Since I got into med school, I am a “Procaffeinator.” If you haven’t encountered such word, it is when you have the tendency to not start anything (for me, studying) until you’ve had a cup of coffee. Drinking coffee concentrates my focus towards what I do.

image

4. You will be busy spending A LOT of time with the love of your life, your books.

Who said we have no love life? We do! We spend more than 8 hours with them from the rising of the sun to its setting (it may sound exaggerating but it’s true). We still have the time to plan a romantic date from Monday to Sunday in our favorite study out place. They’ve been with us all throughout the week! Yes, a medical student will first fall in love with his/her books and notes. It’s a sort of love or hate relationship wherein we will realize that we can’t live without them.

image

We will live with them, learn to love them when we succeed, and hate them when we fail. We will also learn to cherish the little details, the little interesting nuggets of information, that makes studying a little more bearable.

5. Ouch to more canceled vacations

I used to be known as a traveler and I love writing about my travels. Well, that didn’t take too long because I entered the agony of being a future doctor. I  am no longer exploring the world but more like exploring the human body. Hahaha. Since the day I got into Med school, I always miss most of the family vacations. I just have to learn to sacrifice because I chose this path. Not only do I have to sacrifice but to get used to this life for the years to come.

I still remember I canceled my dream vacation to Dubai just to attend classes in school. It was really painful. It was a vacation to die for but I decided to let go of it. I’m sure this won’t be the last painful thing that’ll happen to me. I’m sure there’s more to cancellation of dream vacations.

image

6. Learning new things isn’t actually boring at all. If you learn to make it INTERESTING that is.

One of the greatest things in school is getting to know how the human body works. From how you breathe in and out, how you manage to move your body, how you digest food, how your hormones do its job inside your body and more! It’s just so fun and challenging to learn a lot of new things though understanding some topics make you crazy. So in order for you to not get tired of memorizing unfamiliar things or to refrain from getting bored, you can at least save a picture of Ryan Gosling or your huge crush and start being creative. I tell you, it’s 100% effective. Two thumbs for our president for sharing this photo!

image

8. I sleep anywhere. 

….without getting embarrassed. Sometimes I feel happy for doing it because the 15-minute nap is so worth it especially when you are sleep deprived. Obviously, the battles with sleep are well known to medical students. One doctor told me that in the future I will be able to learn how to sleep-while-standing, which by the way I call “steeping” and I can say it’s actually happening. Don’t you think it’s scary? it’s actually happening right now, the steeping thing and all the more when I become a PGI, Resident, or even a Consultant Doctor. Oh well, there’s one thing that I can really say, sleep cannot be cheated; it always gets its just due, one way or another.

image
 IMG_20151128_060318

9. I sleep anywhere. So, as my friends. Haha!

The good thing about being a sleep deprived medical student is knowing that I am not alone in this endeavor. We sleep at a coffee shop, we sleep at the library, we sleep just about anywhere safe and secure. Not to mention, we have this favorite hang out place after we eat lunch and wait for the next class- our favorite sleeping place, Moonleaf. Haha! We visit Moonleaf almost every day. We order a drink, chat a little and start getting some ZZZZZZZs. I guess the quote that says, True friends don’t let you do things alone is so true.

image
 20160513_132500

10. When I’m sleepy, I take thousands of selfies.

Yes, you heard me. You might think I’m one narcissist but this is applicable for desperate measures! When my brain is receiving too much information, I just pick up my mobile phone and start taking selfies. *Ka chick! Ka chick!* That’s just life. Sometimes you are forced to do things you wouldn’t normally do just to survive. Haha.

image

11. Formalin, medical students’ perfume.

We all know perfume is powerful and that is why we love it. Perfume is able to conjure memories, to evoke feelings, to influence moods but not with this one, it makes you dizzy and lazy (Idk why I always have more than 2 hours of nap every after Anatomy Lab). Our Anatomy lab has a stuffy odor that sticks with you for a long time. Not only do you have to get used with the smell of the room, you also need to get accustomed with the bad smell of formalin, dissecting the body to just find the smallest of arteries to get a good grade in Anatomy, and to rise up in every gloomy day.

image

12. A Series of Firsts

You will always have your many memorable firsts in Medical School. To a bright-eyed first year medical student, marks a real turning point into the medical field the moment when textbook studies leave the stage, and actual flesh and bone take the spotlight. One of my first unforgettable moment is seeing our fresh cadaver for the first time.

As a medical student we often get questions like: “Do you really cut real bodies?” and “Isn’t it pretty disgusting?” Yes, we do dissect dead people and no, I don’t find it gross but it does smell sometimes. Not only do we study the body by reading books but human dissection has been the classic tool to teach us and to help us learn the anatomy of the human body. Dissecting and even skinning, as easy it may sound, was easier said than done. It takes a lot of time to cut through the skin and remove the subcutaneous fat. Thank God for cadavers because they have been our first patient and most of all, our first teacher.

image

Being able to hold a real heart was another first. I was literally holding in my hands a human heart. Not only a human heart, but a heart that belonged to a human. I could see reflected in my hands the life that I choose to have- Saving lives. Once you hold something undeniably and excitingly amazing, how can you not want to move forward? How can you not feel happy wherein what used to be a dream is now a reality?

image

Ahh, one of the most amazing experiences! Do you remember you first minor operation? Yeah, circumcising fearful patients. We first learned it in a small class, simulated in labs and then practiced it in a community setting. It surely did challenged our knowledge (especially in handling not only the operation but the patient), dexterity and composure. Yes, I had circumcised 3 patients and I’m proud to say that none of them shed a single tear nor screamed their lungs out. Hihi. Call it adrenaline, youthful operation excitement, or future doctor instincts kicking in!

12. Be proud with your eye bags!

People don’t even have to ask, and they can tell we are medical students by the bags under our eyes. But remember this, behind every huge eye bags (don’t forget the dark circles) are endless sleepless nights, lamentation and perseverance in order to make it through the week! But above those bags, is the light of our fire. Our drive to be the best doctor that we can be. So be proud of your eye bags! Show ‘em off! Hahaha.

image

13.  In Medical School, I met these awesome people 🙂

image

I just can’t help but admit that I fell in love with these people. In med school, you learn that you can’t go through it alone. You need the support of people around you. That this is also a give and take relationship. Your friends will help and teach you to balance. When to take things slow and when to burn the midnight oil.

14. Your Family will be your no. 1 Support System

image

My family is always there to support and pray for me and I can’t thank them enough for giving me so much love! I call my parents often times. Better yet, write them an e-mail and send pictures of how I have been doing. They have sacrificed a lot so that I could go to medical school. Without my family, I probably wouldn’t be where I am right now.

15. At the end of the day, it is still God’s grace that sustains me

image

When I can’t handle all the pressures, the stresses, and confusions in life- I just stop. I leave my books and open my Bible instead. In this manner I am reminded that God is near me and when I’m confuse & anxious He offers me His peace, a peace that will protect my soul and body from the destructive effects of continual anxiety .

 

 

25 thoughts on “My life as a Medical Student

    • hellodewww says:

      The first year of medicine is kind of hard because you have many things to adjust to: Sleepless nights, Caffeine overload, Stress, No social life, Plenty of thick books to read. hihi 🙂

      Like

  1. CHIcTonic says:

    I personally know a medicine student just like you and I am aware of his struggles especially now the he is doing his internship. He is like a walking dead sometimes hehe 🙂

    Like

  2. aubu22 says:

    I have a friend who just graduated from medical school and the first thing that I noticed is that both of you are still pretty despite the rough schedules that you guys have, (anung sikreto niyo?haha) I’m a registered nurse and not once did I imagine myself as a doctor. (haggard much at masakit sa utak) >:)

    Like

    • hellodewww says:

      Awww. That’s very flattering! During my 1st year of medicine, I always make it to a point that I go to school well groomed with on fleek eyebrows but now I’m always GGB (Gulong gulong buhay) due to the rough schedule. Hahaha! But thank you for that compliment.

      You’re right, haggard at masakit sa utak talaga ang mag medicine and I don’t know why I’m punishing myself. Haha

      Liked by 1 person

  3. latenightthoughts300 says:

    This post was fun to read. I love the vibe you’re giving and how positive it is. You are definitely right about Formalin. Although I haven’t been exposed to formalin in cadavers more than 4 minutes, it could stick with me for the rest of the day. The worst part is when I’m eating and I wouldn’t appreciate the smell of food. All and all, I loved the pictures. Have a good day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • hellodewww says:

      You haven’t been exposed by formalin for more than 4 minutes? Wow! Good for you. We’re exposed by it by more than 3-4 hours a day depending on which part we’re dissecting. Anyway, thank you for appreciating my blog! 🙂

      Like

  4. luminescence1 says:

    i am a medical student too and I totally agree with everything you have mentioned ! 🙂 A perfectly described life of a medical student !! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

